Listed Buildings Consent - We Specialise In Obtaining Listed Building Consent

What is a listed building?
A 'listed building' is a building, object or structure that has been judged to be of national importance in terms of architectural or historic interest and included on a special register, called the List of Buildings of Special Architectural or Historic Interest.
Compiled by the Department for Culture, Media and Sports (DCMS), under the provisions of the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990, the list includes a wide variety of structures, from castles and cathedrals to milestones and village pumps.
What part of the building is listed?
When a building is listed, it is listed in its entirety, which means that both the exterior and the interior are protected. In addition, any object or structure fixed to the building, and any object or structure within the curtilage of the building, which although not fixed to the building, forms part of the land and has done so since before 1 July 1948, are treated as part of the listed building.

Listed building consent

Listed building control is a type of planning control, which protects buildings of special architectural or historical interest. These controls are in addition to any planning regulations which would normally apply. Listed building status can also result in the requirement for planning permission where it wouldn’t ordinarily be required - for example, the erection of means of enclosure.
This special form of control is intended to prevent the unrestricted demolition, alteration or extension of a listed building without the express consent of the local planning authority or the Secretary of State.
The controls apply to any works for the demolition of a listed building, or for its alteration or extension, which is likely to affect its character as a building of special architectural or historical interest.
The control does not depend upon whether the proposed activity constitutes development under Section 55 of the 1990 Act. It extends to any works for the demolition of a listed building or for its alteration or extension in any manner likely to affect its character as a building of special architectural or historical interest.
Section 7 of the Planning (Listed Building and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 (LBCA Act) provides that, subject to the following provisions of the Act, no person shall execute or cause to be executed any works for the demolition of a listed building or for its alteration or extension in any manner which would affect its character as a building of special architectural or historic interest, unless the works are authorised. (Section 9 of the 1990 Act provides that if a person contravenes Section 7 he/she shall be guilty of an offence.)
It is a criminal offence to carry out work which needs listed building consent without obtaining it beforehand.

Types of building works which would normally require listed building consent include:

• demolition of a listed building
• alteration or extension of a listed building in any manner (including internal) which would affect its character as a building of special architectural or historic interest
Planning Portal - Application Type Guidance V1 England
It is important to note that the term ‘listed building’ includes:
• the building itself
• any object or structure fixed to it
• any object or structure that has been within the curtilage of the building since 1948
Planning permission may also be required for works involving the external alteration/extension of the listed building, where works affect the character of the building. In this situation, the full application or householder application and listed building consent should be submitted.


Buildings that are eligible for listed status are as follows:

• All buildings built before 1700 that survive in anything like their original condition
• Most buildings of 1700-1840, although selection is necessary
• Between 1840 and 1914 only buildings of definite quality and character; the selection is designed to include the major works of principal architects
• Between 1914 and 1939 selected buildings of high quality or historic interest
• A limited number of outstanding buildings after 1939, but at least ten years old, and usually more than 30 years old

Grades of listed buildings

Listed buildings are classified into grades as follows:
• Grade I - buildings of exceptional interest (approximately 2 per cent of all listed buildings)
• Grade II* - particularly important and more than special interest (approximately four per cent)
• Grade II - buildings of special interest, warranting every effort being made to preserve them (94 per cent)

Our team work closely with our clients, delivering both an expert and intuitive approach to their development. It is our intention to use our expertise to inform our clients and produce a service that delivers the intended design, function and value for money of both design and outcome. Although councils will attach great importance to the design and planning drawings and can refuse a development of poor design, their planning policies considerations and decisions can vary and there are many issues that need to be considered. Our vast experience in architectural design, planning and preparation of planning drawings, allows our team to articulate any findings within the development process to achieve effective results.


Instant Quote


    99.9% Accurate We Survey in London & the rest of the UK
  • INCLUDES 3D Revit Drawings AS STANDARD!

    Superior 3D Revit Drawings & 3D Modelling
  • Project Dashboard & Screen Sharing

    Lets you keep track of your project progress
  • Spreading The Cost With Our Easy Payment Plans

    0% Finance & Payment Plans On Our Fixed Fee Packages.
  • Project Funding

    Financiers who provide up to 100% funding for your project
  • Connect Plus

    We Put You In touch With Local Approved Builders, Look No Further!
  • In-House Multi Disciplinary Consultancy

    Structures, Build overs, Party Wall, Flood Risk, Biodiversity & More

What are the criteria for a building having listed status?

The Department of Culture Media and Sport (DCMS) uses the following criteria to decide which buildings to include on the list of protected buildings:
• architectural interest: buildings of importance because of their design, decoration and craftsmanship
• historic interest: buildings which illustrate an aspect of the nation's social, economic, cultural or military history
• historic association: buildings that demonstrate close historical association with nationally important people or events
• group value: buildings that form part of an architectural ensemble, such as squares, terraces or model villages

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies. 

error: Alert:SMARTePLANS® Content is protected !!